I just finished one examination with a patient and called the next patient into the exam room.  She was a new patient, not wearing glasses and had a large abrasion on her nose and forehead.  My questions immediately went into the head trauma, and complications that may have occurred besides the visible scratches.  She told me how she tripped and fell face first into a brick wall.  While telling her story, she reached into her purse and pulled out her old glasses. The frames were mangled and then she pulled out the 10 shattered pieces of her lenses.  Luckily, none of the pieces impaled her skin or more importantly either eye.

Accidents happen and her story is a perfect example why the use of impact resistant lenses is important for most patients.  Some patients may be deterred by the added expense of a polycarbonate or trivex lens, but the added level of protection is the difference between a lens that may shatter versus a lens that is simply scratched.  In addition to shatter resistance, polycarbonate lenses have UV protection within the lens to protect the eyes from the sun’s harmful rays.

Personally, I (Dr. Joe) wear my polarized polycarbonate sunglasses most of the time when outdoors, even on cloudy days.   A few years ago, I was cutting the grass in my backyard when all of a sudden the lawnmower blade hit a dense wood chip sending it at my face. The wood flew and hit the dead center of my right lens.  The force raised the frames on my face and scratched the lens, but it did not shatter and my eye was protected.

Once again, accidents happen.

